A Healthy Life

ImageLook I’m not saying that I don’t get low self-esteem or maybe a little sad because of my weight, which right now is at a record high. Especially in a family of avid runners and health nuts. But I find myself happier now at 165 lbs than I ever was at 145.

I am so tired of girls thinking they need to be stick thin. You would think that after years and years of anti-eating disorder advocacy, hotlines, and campaigns like the Dove Campaign for Real Beauty we would have gotten past this mindset. Thigh gap? Hip bones? Flat stomach? I’d rather be a size 12 than a size 2. Sure I need to make some healthier life changes, and I should lose weight in order to have a long, healthy, and wellness filled life- but curves, muscle, and a womanly shape are A) much more attractive and desirable B) much easier to maintain and C) healthier than depriving yourself and being too hard on yourself.

Being able to run a marathon or complete a triathlon is not for everyone-definitely not for me, but I love to be outside, I love to hike- see the world from a mountain top, I love to walk in the woods. It’s energizing, it’s fulfilling. A good workout leaves me feeling strong and healthy and the endorphins make me happy.

Don’t get me wrong- I’m starting a major health kick. I’m going to eat more non-processed foods, more veggies, more lean protein, less desserts, and I’m going to be active. I’m going to walk everyday, if only for 20 minutes. I’m going to hit the gym. I’m going to train for a 10K.

IT’S NOT OUR SIZE OR WEIGHT that should make us happy. We should aim for a healthy size/weight, of course. But we all think that getting down to a goal weight that is celebrity thin is going to make everything else in our lives better, but here’s the real deal: The process of getting and staying healthy- eating the right foods, being active, and for me, meditating- is what’s going to make us happy. When you’re healthy, you feel good. When your mind and body are in tune and you can listen to and give your body what it really needs, you will feel good.

And you will be happy.

And, the added BONUS, not the end goal, should looking good in a bikini (which curvy girls can pull off amazingly well, too, by the way!).

So please don’t let this post be in vain. Please look in the mirror and picture yourself healthy. NOT SKINNY- healthy. Close your eyes and imagine what it feels like to climb to the top of a mountain without feeling like you’re going to pass out or hyperventilate. Imagine yourself feeling strong and vivacious. And let that be your goal.

I GUARANTEE that you will feel happier and more motivated than if you were to look in that same mirror and visualize yourself as a size 2.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

