Have a Laugh on Me

What do you call a vertically challenged person with psychic abilities who has escaped from prison?

When I was a sophomore in college I lived on a very close-knit dorm floor. We kept our doors open because we always welcomed our friends to hang out. We loved each other. We’d do our homework together. We’d reminisce about the night out we just had. But most of all we laughed. GOOD LORD did we laugh. I miss that most of all. And this one friend lived about half way down the hall, and I was at one end, and she could hear me laugh even in those rare moments when both our doors were closed. She loved my laugh so much she would come down to our room and open the door and just say “Alex, I love your laugh. Your laugh always makes me so happy. Thank you for laughing.” And something about that not only made me feel loved, but made me feel like I was doing something important for someone just by being myself. By being happy. By laughing. It was contagious, and I think those moments were the ones that made me realize what I wanted to do with my life. Spread the smiles, laughter, happiness, and love in whatever way possible. Whatever job or career I end up in I just need to know that I’m doing that for other people. And there are so many ways to do so.

Jokes. I just… I love them. I love jokes. Simple ones, long ones, inappropriate ones (of course, there’s a line), blonde ones (yes I’m an intelligent blonde and I still love them), even the bad ones that are so bad they’re funny. I mean, really… WHO DOESN’T WANT A GOOD LAUGH?!

I don’t think I could ever make it as a comedian, but I find that I’m happiest when I’m making other people laugh. I tell jokes. I act like a goof. I just be myself. (I guess that’s redundant because being myself means being a goof, but whatever, just go with it). When you’re making other people laugh, you laugh, and when you laugh, you’re happy and when you’re happy, everyone around you is happy. See how effective a simple laugh is?! SO LAUGH! Make others laugh! You’re not perfect, I’m not perfect, no one is perfect. So if you blunder, then laugh about it and we will laugh with you, and we will all be happy.

Yes, there will be moments in life that cause us to cry. Some of those moments will be small, others will be large scale tragedies. That’s OK. Cry. It is our God-given right to feel whatever emotion arises and not stuff it right back down. But in the end, we must always look to a positive future and smile. And laugh. Because every new day is a chance to change the negative into the positive. When I’m upset, my best friend, Elena, knows that making me laugh is absolutely the only way to make me feel better. And it is in that way that I make it through the toughest of times. This world will ENDURE through laughter, and smiles, and love. There is no way we can fail if we smile and laugh through our bleakest days.

So make sure you laugh by returning to the joke:

What do you call a vertically challenged person with psychic abilities who has escaped from prison?

…A small medium at large.

HAHAHAHAHA I’m sorry I just.. that’s hilarious to me. I laughed so hard when I heard it that I snorted… That happens quite often.

Leave a Reply

