“You Will Not Have My Hatred”

Two posts in one day?! Madness!

But seriously, I had to share this:

The husband of one of the victims of the attacks in Paris sent a message to those terrorists that murdered his wife that I find incredibly moving, that gives me hope in humanity, and that echoes what I’ve been trying to say:

You asked for it, you wanted it, but responding to hatred with anger would mean falling victim to the same ignorance that has made you what you are. You want me to be scared, to view my countrymen with mistrust, to sacrifice my liberty for my security. You lost. Better luck next time.

That is from the middle of the message, and below is the link to the article in which I first heard about it.

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2015/11/his-message-to-the-terrorists-who-murdered-his-wife-floored-me/

This man lost the love of his life, the mother of his child, only 17 months old, and yet he refuses to hate the men who took her from him and he vows to raise his child freely and lovingly so that his young boy will not hate them either. I do believe that there is nothing more I can say that he did not ever so perfectly articulate other than: I truly believe that if we all can adopt this point of view, we all can triumph over hatred. Please pass the love on.

So now that I’ve posted a gazillion times about why we should love and not hate, I feel it necessary to question myself on how the heck I am supposed to proceed in changing the world in the wake of these events; I don’t have an answer right now. I suppose keeping these posts going, in the hopes that many will read them and in turn take home the message to treat everyone they encounter, and I mean EVERYONE, with equal love and respect so that the world may learn tolerance and acceptance to prevent attacks such as these…. I suppose that’s all I can do for now…

…key words being FOR NOW…

Fight hatred. Choose love.

Leave a Reply

